Pujols Autograph?
This auction features a Pujols "signed" bat. Notice how someone paid $135 for it. The signature doesn't really look like Pujols and the certificate is from OSA which is an unknown company. Pujols is a very hard signature to get.
This was sent to us by one of our readers, what is your opinion? We would like to hear from you!
19 Comments:
so many pujols sigs are on ebay. his signature isn't all that complex so people rip his sig off all the time. and some people trust people which is sad becuase they end up getting ripped off.
im not a expert on baseball or albert but what i recall from authentic signatures on bats of his it seemed he signs his auto a lot smaller.remember allmost all players go through a routine when they sign and usally sign the same type of item in the exact same place and if the sign big they sign big all the time,if they sign small they sign small all the time
Can anybody tell me if this guys stuff is real?http://cgi.ebay.com/Red-Sox-27-Card-Auto-LOT_W0QQitemZ8785537376QQcategoryZ73396QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
can you tell me if ebay itemm number 8785537376 is real? not that item the guys stuff.
Looks like his rookie sig.
I was the one that forwared this item to Kelly. I also submitted a complaint to Ebay's Safe Harbour concerning this seller's autograph items with a COA from Onlinesportsautographs. They also had a bunch of Pujols autograph helmets that look to be removed by Ebay. Their Pujols autograph items from OSA are fake and check out their Arod autograph items; they aren't even close. It's beyond me why people bid on garbage like that.
kelly,i just found a seller whos items are very bad.....guy has a ton on farve,brady,roethlisberger,bush,vick etc etc.....there company is unknown and allmost every item has a inscribtion and every inscb looks like the same person signed it.....i know prices and his items are priced below even the dealer wholesale price of just the inscb's check him out ebay id
moostercloset
put him on your blog
In response to this seller's item http://cgi.ebay.com/Red-Sox-27-Card-Auto-LOT_W0QQitemZ8785537376QQcategoryZ73396QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem mentioned above by tommy, it is hard to tell on those sigs but the seller's description is very questionable.
Most of the autographs were obtained from ebay, some signed at the ball park, card shows etc. Sounds kind of fishy regarding the origin of the autos
Regarding moostercloset, I couldn't find any current or past listings on the seller...
One of the great things about Kelly's site here is that it gives everyone an opportunity to "voice" their opinion, which allows all of us to continue to learn about what goes on in the autograph industry. Kelly is very aware of my investigation (which I continue every day) into the fake autograph memorabilia industry, and one point I'd like to repeat is that when you look at a particular seller's autograph auction items always look at their selling history and the items they are selling presently. If you notice that a seller consistently sells Jeter, Pujols, Bonds, Peyton Manning, etc. autograph items that aren't from the usual well-known sources then it has to raise a flag with you. You have to ask "how could they have acquired them without having a contract with them?" This is just one of the simple and most logical methods (among others) to check a seller out. The seller of this Albert Pujols has a endless supply of Albert Pujols autographs, and yes, they are all fake, as are their other OSA autograph items. Don't bid without thinking and using some common sense.
This is not specific to Pujols autograph, but for all the people out there scamming collectors with FAKE autographs. There was one recently id ABLOCK118 out of Florida that was claiming to sell many items out of his 10,000 item collection he has gathered. I am a dealer Authentic Athletes out of Wisconsin and just happened to be an authorized dealer for a couple of the products he was selling. Like a Chicago White Sox signed ball for $39 which retails for $2,000. Someone did win the ball for $139 or seemed to win the ball. This is a prime example of if it looks too good to be true, it usually is. I am a hard working professional that is trying to pass along high quality signed and unsigned memorabilia and people like this are ruining the collecting business on Ebay and elsewhere with false claim and prices. Collectors see these prices and think that the dealers are ripping off the customer. Not true, it is these one here two there popup "businesses" that are misleading the public.
Ask the buyer lots of questions to protect yourself and do research on the people. Look for sellers that do not promise you the world, because they can promise you everything because their intent is not to deliver. Nothing for them to LOSE.
Did I mention this person is "no longer a registered user" It is time to clean up our business.
Ken
Ken is right. Beware of people who say they have been collecting for years and they are now offloading their stuff for nothing. These items are usually fake.
I am new to collecting sports memorabilia. Can anyone provide feedback on Radtke Sports in Georgia? They have nice items and seem to have some personal contracts that would suggest they are reputable and well-respected. Thanks.
Radtke is a good company. They have a deal with Favre and possibly Vick, so they are getting their stuff directly from them.
Can someone tell me if Starz Sports Memorabilia from Texas is a well known company?
Check ou this fake Pujols signature...the funny thing about this auction is that I have seen this exact same style of signature listed in conjunction with a Jeter signed cards from sellers like Minahsports - you can compare and let me know what think!
280019147293
190020444632
Be VERY cautious of anyone selling stuff that claims to have alot of it. People selling autographs of those high profile athletes like Pujols don't need to sell on e-bay. There are plenty of buyers out there. There are licensed reputable companies out there that can sell the real thing and won't be trying to sell the fakes. As far as those that claim that they got multiple autographs at the ballpark, card shows, etc. don't fall for it. They would have to spend an enormous amount of time getting just a few autographs, not to mention 10 or 20. My brother-in-law works for the Cardinals and is one of Mark McGwire's best friends. He only has a handful of autographed items of McGwire and Pujols and he has or had contact with them everyday. If he can't get a ton of things signed, do you really think some guy pawning his stuff on e-bay is completely legit? Look for those with LOTS of good feedback before buying.
Hi - I recently purchases an albert Pujos autograph Jersey. The auction is here: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=011&item=320022200722&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&rd=1
I compared the signature to other signatures and signatures in his resturant in St. Louis (he recently opened a new resturaunt in Westport) and it looks like the real deal .. however, I can't find the website for the COA that came with it ... and to be quite honest the COA looks like it was printed (there's not even a company logo from the company that "authenticated" it. This is what he quotes:
"The Certificate of Authenticity is from Game Day Autographs and Sports Memorabilia."
The sellers nick is savant01 and he deals in autographs.
Please let me know what you think - I'm curious if I got taken to the cleaners.
Thanks
Corey Schaaf
Can anyone out there give me any info about onlinesportsautographs.com??? Fake or not Fake??? Where the website went??? What the deal is??? Thanks in advance...
Post a Comment
<< Home